All four Lynnwood City Councilmembers to face challengers

Now that the filing period has closed for local elections, we have posted the results below. All four Lynnwood City Councilmembers are facing opposition.

City Council President Loren Simmonds is opposed by Diversity Commission Chair Shirley Sutton and Planning Commissioner Maria Ambalada. Councilmember Benjamin Goodwin faces accountant Chris Frizzell and Planning Commissioner Douglas Jones. Councilmember Van AuBuchon will be running against former Lynnwood Police Crime Prevention Specialist and Public Information Officer Shannon Sessions. Councilmember Sid Roberts faces Planning Commission Member George Hurst.

The Edmonds School Board races have both new and familiar faces. Susan Phillips, who resigned last year for family reasons, is running to regain the District 4 board seat that has been held April Nowak, who had been appointed to take Phillips’ place. Nowak announced recently she would not to run for election. Also filing for the District 4 seat were Michael Arendt and Monica Wheaton.

In District 1, being vacated by current board member Kory DeMun, two newcomers will face off: Bill Willcock and Carin Chase. And in District 3, long-time board member Gary Noble is facing two challengers for his seat: Mark L. Norton and Mary Murphy. District 5 board member Diana White, who is currently serving as school board president, is running unopposed.

Hospital District No. 2 (Verdant Health Commission) Commissioners Fred Langer and Bruce Williams are running unopposed.

Here are the Lynnwood-specific races. You can find all those running for Snohomish County positions at this link.

CITY OF LYNNWOOD Snohomish
COUNCIL POSITION #4 Nonpartisan Office 4-year term
Shirley Sutton
PO Box 5474
Lynnwood WA 98037
(425) 742-9398
natc_2@yvn.com
5/11/2015 9:15:00 AM
Loren Simmonds
PO Box 2193
Lynnwood WA 98036
(425) 750-0704
lorensimmonds@aol.com
5/11/2015 10:07:00 AM
Maria Ambalada
4515 176th St SW Apt 16
Lynnwood WA 98037
(425) 361-8567
ambaladam@aol.com
5/14/2015 12:36:00 PM
COUNCIL POSITION #5 Nonpartisan Office 4-year term
Chris Frizzell
PO Box 5487
Lynnwood WA 98046
(206) 794-0187
frizzell.chris@gmail.com
5/11/2015 10:58:00 AM
Benjamin Goodwin
3716 188th St SW Unit 3
Lynnwood WA 98037
(425) 672-3919
benjamin.goodwin23@gmail.com
5/13/2015 5:11:00 PM
Douglas Jones
5810 183rd St SW
Lynnwood WA 98037
(425) 275-1977
doug4lynnwood@gmail.com
5/14/2015 2:32:00 PM
COUNCIL POSITION #6 Nonpartisan Office 4-year term
George Hurst
4027 184th Pl SW
Lynnwood WA 98037
(425) 232-7877
gphurst@outlook.com
5/11/2015 9:16:00 AM
Sid Roberts
3617 176th St SW
Lynnwood WA 98037
(425) 741-7105
mrlynnwood@gmail.com
5/11/2015 10:10:00 AM
COUNCIL POSITION #7 Nonpartisan Office 4-year term
Shannon Sessions
PO Box 2604
Lynnwood WA 98036
(425) 478-6524
electshannonsessions@gmail.com
5/11/2015 10:50:00 AM
Van AuBuchon
PO Box 121
Lynnwood WA 98046
(425) 210-8538
van@vanaubuchon.com
5/11/2015 11:44:00 AM
EDMONDS SCHOOL DISTRICT 15 Snohomish
DIRECTOR DISTRICT #1 Nonpartisan Office 4-year term
Bill Willcock
918 Sea Vista Pl
Edmonds WA 98020
(425) 268-0611
wwillcock@gmail.com
5/11/2015 9:20:00 PM
Carin Chase
PO Box 1944
Lynnwood WA 98046
(425) 312-3056
carinchase@hotmail.com
5/15/2015 10:25:00 AM
DIRECTOR DISTRICT #3 Nonpartisan Office 4-year term
Gary Noble
1422 172nd Pl SW
Lynnwood WA 98037
(425) 745-3205
nobleg@frontier.com
5/11/2015 9:17:00 AM
Mark L. Norton
3529 158th St SW
Lynnwood WA 98087
(425) 760-1053
mlnorton@frontier.com
5/15/2015 1:21:00 PM
Mary Murphy
18418 12th Ave W
Lynnwood WA 98037
(206) 310-4041
jm.murf.95@gmail.com
5/15/2015 3:39:00 PM
DIRECTOR DISTRICT #4 Nonpartisan Office 2-year unexpired term
Susan Phillips
20424 79th Ave W
Edmonds WA 98026
(206) 930-8572
susan4schools@gmail.com
5/11/2015 4:38:00 PM
Michael (Mike) Arendt
7414 198th St SW
Lynnwood WA 98036
(425) 774-2049
arendt1@gmail.com
5/14/2015 2:16:00 AM
Monica Wheaton
17911 46th Pl W
Lynnwood WA 98037
(425) 224-6070
monicawheaton@gmail.com
5/15/2015 7:18:00 AM
DIRECTOR DISTRICT #5 Nonpartisan Office 4-year term
Diana White
831 Northstream Ln
Edmonds WA 98020
(425) 640-2299
diana.white1@comcast.net
5/11/2015 11:33:00 AM

 

HOSPITAL DISTRICT 2 Snohomish
COMMISSIONER POSITION #2 Nonpartisan Office 6-year term
Fred Langer
1416 8th Pl S
Edmonds WA 98020
(206) 459-5714
Fredericklanger@me.com
5/11/2015 10:02:00 AM
COMMISSIONER POSITION #5 Nonpartisan Office 6-year term
Bruce Williams
23123 83rd Ave W
Edmonds WA 98026
(425) 778-2499
jbwilliamsmd@gmail.com
5/11/2015 9:20:00 AM

 

 

ALDERWOOD WATER AND WASTEWATER DISTRICT Snohomish
COMMISSIONER POSITION #2 Nonpartisan Office 6-year term
Donna Cross
18 143rd St SE
Lynnwood WA 98087
(425) 743-1236
donna.cross2@comcast.net
5/11/2015 9:35:00 AM
COMMISSIONER POSITION #5 Nonpartisan Office 4-year unexpired term
Dean R. Lotz
20712 Locust Way
Lynnwood WA 98036
(425) 744-6049
drlcomm5@frontier.com
5/11/2015 9:23:00 PM
Mark Mahnkey
13026 4th Ave W #300
Everett WA 98204
(425) 304-7920
mark_mahnkey@outlook.com
5/13/2015 4:14:00 PM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real first and last names — as well as city of residence — are required for all commenters.
This is so we can verify your identify before approving your comment.