Council to narrow list of councilmember applications June 10

At its June 10 meeting, the Lynnwood City Council is scheduled to narrow the pool of candidates seeking a position on the council and vote on the appointment of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Commission applicant Chelsea Wright.

Councilmember Shirley Sutton resigned her council position in May 2024, and 24 residents have applied to fill the Position 1 vacancy. On Monday, individual councilmembers will submit a ranked choice ballot. Based on those rankings, eight candidates will be interviewed by the city council on June 17 and 20. A final council vote will be June 20.

Here is the current list of candidates:
Victoria Bell
Terrance Chiu
Ki Seung Cho
Kevin Coleman
Simreet Dhaliwal
Derica Escamilla
Rosamaria Graziani
Keton Handy
Justin Harrer
Ted Hikel
Lu Jiang
Caroline Judd-Herzfeldt
Bob Larson
Naz Lashgari
Robert Leutwyler
Carol McMahon
Rick Michels
Raymond Mooney
Cory Palmer
Gray Petersen
Rebekah Scharf
Lisa Soros
Jeff Tingley
Lisa Utter

Other items scheduled for the meeting include:

  • A vote on revisions to the city council’s confirmation process.
  • A proclamation acknowledging the appointment of Cheri Stadler Ryan as Lynnwood’s City Historian.
  • A proclamation acknowledging Juneteenth.

The June 10 meeting will begin at 6 p.m. in Lynnwood City Hall Council Chambers, 19100 44th Ave. W., Lynnwood. Visit for information on streaming or joining the meeting live. You can see the complete agenda for the meeting here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real first and last names — as well as city of residence — are required for all commenters.
This is so we can verify your identity before approving your comment.