Edmonds School Board president faces primary challenge; two Lynnwood councilmembers have opponents in general election

Candidate filing closed Friday afternoon for the Aug.1, 2023 primary election ballot, including those seeking Lynnwood City Council and Edmonds School Board positions.

Two Lynnwood City Council incumbents — Julieta Altamirano-Crosby in Position 5 and Jim Smith in Position 4 — will have opponents in the November general election. Lynnwood business owner Nick Coelho is challenging Smith while Army veteran Robert Leutwyler has filed against Altamirano-Crosby. Two people are vying for Position 7, an open seat because Shannon Sessions is retiring from the council: Derek Hanusch and David Parshall. Position 6 Councilmember George Hurst is running unopposed for a third term.

There will be one primary race for Edmonds School Board. Nancy Katims, the current board president who represents District 5, has two challengers: Nicholas Jenkins and Arjun Kathuria. In the general election, Carin Chase, representing District 1, has one opponent — Nicholas Logan. Hawk Cramer is running unopposed for District 3, an open seat since Gary Noble isn’t seeking reelection.

For the new elected position of Lynnwood Municipal Court Judge, current appointed Judge Valerie Bouffiou is running unopposed.

Incumbent commissioners for Public Hospital District No. 2 of Snohomish County, otherwise known as the Verdant Health Commission, also will face challengers in the general election. In Position 1, incumbent Deana Knutsen is up against Bob Meador, and Position 2 incumbent Karianna Wilson will face Mark Laurence.

South Snohomish County Regional Fire Authority Commissioner Derek Daniels faces a challenge from Ed Widdis in the at-large position. Daniels was appointed to the position in January 2022.

A total of 176 local offices are up for election in Snohomish County this year including county executive, assessor, auditor, clerk, sheriff, treasurer and councilmembers; city and town mayors and councilmembers; fire district commissioners; school board directors; and port and water and sewer district commissioners. A complete list of those who have filed can be fonnd here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real first and last names — as well as city of residence — are required for all commenters.
This is so we can verify your identity before approving your comment.