League of Women Voters Snohomish County honors its ‘Legends’ and elects new officers

League President Jen Winckler, center, presents flowers and displays the permanent plaque with the names of honorees Joan Smith, left, and Lynn Carpenter.

The League of Women Voters of Snohomish County elected new officers for 2023-24 during its recent annual meeting and luncheon.

The organization also recognized Lynn Carpenter and Joan Smith as “Legends of the League” for their service to the league and the community.

League leadership for 2023-24, effective July 1, is:


President: Karen Crowley

President-Elect: Cathy Liu Scott

Immediate Past-President: Jen Winckler

First Vice President: Julie Smith

Second Vice President: Lisa Utter

Secretary: Clara Hsu

Treasurer: Karen Madsen


Suleiny Altamirano

Michelle Frye

Valerie Kelley

Jane McClure

Carol McMahon

Julie Winchell

Nominating Committee

Chair: Jeanne Crevier

Cathy Baylor

Kate Lunceford

Also during their meeting, the league approved two new programs of work for the upcoming fiscal year. While continuing existing committees such as voter services and health care, they will also focus on two new areas: tree canopy and preserving legacy forests, and statewide redistricting reform.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real first and last names — as well as city of residence — are required for all commenters.
This is so we can verify your identity before approving your comment.