Lynnwood nominates 44 volunteers for Presidential Service Award

pin_goldIn recognition of their volunteer service to Lynnwood, the city has nominated 44 volunteers for the Presidential Service Award for their hours served in 2011.

The Presidential Service Award is a national honor in recognition of volunteers across the United States. The mayor and city council honored the 44 volunteers at the Feb. 11 city council meeting.

“Our volunteers in this supply not less than about 20,000 hours of their free time to help this city out,” Gough said. “It’s absolutely incredible. … It just keeps adding and adding up and even with the recession people are still willing to come and provide their valuable time.”

This is the first year the city has nominated its volunteers for the Presidential Service Volunteer Awards.

“It sets a standard of service, which encourages others to be involved,” Gough said.

Each recipient will receive a volunteer service award pin, a certificate and letters from President Obama and Mayor Gough.

“Life is all about a long journey and series of choices,” Gough said. “Your choice to volunteer some of your valuable time is very much valued by your city and community. It is a powerful statement of commitment and in addition it provides and shows a passion for service, service that is to not just do it but also to lead, because in order to lead you must first be willing to serve. Volunteers are on the first step in terms of making things happen in this community.

“There is no higher calling when you make a choice to serve your community and give of your valuable time.”

About 15 of the volunteers attended the presentation.

Here is the list of volunteers and the awards they received.

Bronze (awarded to Adults serving 100-249 hours, and Young Adults serving 100-174 hours):

Jo Abrahamson, Akali Barnes, Ben Benson, Gary Bogle, Annmarie Bolender, Manfred Bolender, Pamela Bond Coello, Walt Brickwidel, Judy Brown, Janet Carmichael, Sang Chong, Tetsuko Dolge, Ida Fernandez, Cheryl Glasglow, William Greiner, Myrtle Guild, Bonnie Little, Mel Marklein, Betty McAulay, Thomas Murphy, Jocelyn Oakley, Geraldi Prajnamitra, Jeanne Rogers, Gary Rogers, Erin Ryan, Iris Taylor, Shirley Thorvisen.

Silver (Awarded to Adults serving 250-499 hours and Young Adults serving: 175-249 hours):

Janice Ashenbrenner, Elaine Clemensen, Lynda Doctorello, Fang-Yueh Huang, Jean Ludwig, Ray Martens, Sharyl Martens, Claudette Martinez, Margaret Morse, Jazmine Smith.

Gold (Awarded to Adults serving 500+ hours and Young Adults serving 250+ hours):

Norma Bailey, Gabby Carninschi, Ethel Conrad, Sharon Lightner, Donna McKinney, Susan Whittlesey.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real first and last names — as well as city of residence — are required for all commenters.
This is so we can verify your identity before approving your comment.